# Awards and Addresses Summary

Each year at the annual ASHG meeting, addresses are given in honor of the society and a number of award winners. A summary of each of these addresses is given below. On the next pages, we have printed the Presidential Address and the addresses for the William Allan Award. The other addresses, accompanied by pictures of the speakers, can be found at www.ashg.org.

#### **Presidential Address**

Wylie Burke

# William Allan Award

The Allan Award, the major award given by the American Society of Human Genetics, was established in 1961 in memory of William Allan (1881-1943), one of the first American physicians to conduct extensive research in human genetics. The Allan Award is presented annually in recognition of substantial and far-reaching scientific contributions to human genetics; these must be carried out over a sustained period of scientific inquiry and productivity. It consists of an engraved medal and a monetary award presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Arthur Beaudet Introduction: James Lupski

# Leadership Award

This prestigious award is presented to an individual whose professional achievements have fostered and enriched the development of various human genetics disciplines. Potential recipients should exemplify the enduring leadership and vision required to ensure that the field of human genetics will flourish and successfully assimilate into the broader context of science, medicine, and health. A plaque and a monetary award are presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Walter Nance Introduction: Cynthia Morton

# **Curt Stern Award**

The Stern Award honors the memory of Curt Stern (1902-1981) as an outstanding, pioneering human geneticist. This award is presented yearly for outstanding scientific achievements that occurred in the last 10 years in human genetics. The work can be a single major discovery or may be a series of contributions on a similar or related topic. A monetary award is presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Jeffrey Murray Introduction: Anne Bowcock

# Award for Excellence in Human **Genetics Education**

The ASHG has established an award to recognize outstanding contributions to human genetics education. Nominees must have made a contribution that is recognized nationally or internationally as being of exceptional quality and great importance to human genetics education.

Recipient: Robert Elston

Introduction: Joan Bailey-Wilson

#### **Gruber Genetics Prize**

The Gruber Genetics Prize, sponsored by the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation, honors leading scientists for distinguished contributions in any realm of genetics research. A gold medal and a monetary award are presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Maynard Olson

# **Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award**

This award, sponsored by the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation, goes to a young woman geneticist who is in her first 3 years of an independent faculty position in any area of genetics. The award honors the groundbreaking contributions of Dr. Rosalind Franklin and is designed to inspire and support a new generation of women in the field of genetics. A monetary award is presented at the annual meeting.

Recipient: Molly Przeworski

#### C.W. Cotterman Awards

Each year, the Editorial Board of the ASHG selects two articles that best represent outstanding contributions to the field of genetics. The awards go to the two best papers published in the Journal during the previous year on which the first author was either a pre- or

DOI 10.1016/j.ajhg.2008.04.012. ©2008 by The American Society of Human Genetics. All rights reserved.

post-doctoral trainee and an ASHG member. Two plaques and monetary awards are presented at the annual meeting.

Recipients: Saima Riazuddin and Min Shi

#### **Student Awards**

The Board of Directors, in consultation with the committee chairperson, determines the number of awards to be given for student presentations at the annual meeting, the categories for which they are given, and the amount of each award. The chairperson works closely on the Student Awards Program with the executive vice-president and the chairperson of the Program Committee. Scoring is done by the Program Committee, and the top ranking

abstracts are submitted to the Awards Committee. Finalists are then selected by the committee prior to the annual meeting. Winners are chosen after the committee judges the finalists' presentations.

# **Recipients**

ASHG Trainee Award Predoctoral Basic: Jain Mahim ASHG Trainee Award Predoctoral Translational: Clement Chow

ASHG Trainee Award Postdoctoral Basic: Graham Coop, David Ng

ASHG Trainee Award Postdoctoral Clinical: Christian Windpassinger

ASHG Trainee Award Postdoctoral Translational: Marwan Tayeh